Quarantine Comeback Campaign

Ennis Quarantine Comeback 1200 x 1200

We are looking past these unpredictable times and hope that we can return to our fun-filled fundraisers in the coming year. Until then, contributions of all amounts, large and small, will assist us in getting things back to normal.

Your tax-deductible donations allow us to continue producing the diverse entertainment experiences that have helped us thrive for more than 16 years.

Theatre is a huge undertaking…and even though we are grateful to our volunteers and patrons, there are bills and expenses that simply aren’t covered by the cost of a ticket. In addition to the costumes, props and sets that we all enjoy seeing onstage, EPT also must pay for scripts and royalties, posters, advertising, playbills and publicity for each production. Concessions have to be purchased, rent and utilities must be paid, box office supplies and software, and web support and maintenance are the ongoing expenses that may not be glamorous but are essential to the life of our theater.

Art and entertainment can transport us and lift our spirits. Thanks in advance for your generosity. Please know that you are appreciated, and that you will receive an acknowledgement of your donation.

You can make a difference and be a part of the team that produces amazing theater right in the heart of Downtown Ennis.

Click the button in the upper right corner to be a part of the Quarantine Comeback Campaign today!

Covid Precautions

• All audience members and staff will be required to wear a mask.
• When you arrive, we will take your temperature.
• Each individual will be required to sign a COVID-19 waiver. You will not be permitted to watch the show without signing one.
• There will be no concessions served.
• There will be no intermission. We have chosen a shorter show (running less than an hour) to accomplish this for our Christmas production.
• We will be following state required spacing between seats/win the auditorium.
• The facility will be thoroughly sanitized following CDC guidelines.

Because COVID is an ever-changing issue and proper health and safety protocols are frequently updated, we reserve the right to change these procedures at any time in accordance with state, city and/or CDC recommended guidelines.

Please watch this space for up-to-date information about safety precautions.

A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol

Thurs. Dec. 3, Fri. Dec. 4, Sat. Dec. 5 – 7:30 pm

Sun. Dec. 6 – 2:30 pm

Thurs. Dec. 10, Fri. Dec. 11, Sat. Dec. 12 – 7:30 pm

Sun. Dec. 13 – 2:30 pm

With traditional carols and English folk tunes creating the proper atmosphere, the world of Scrooge, Fezziwig and Tiny Tim comes alive in this charming version of the classic tale, igniting the holiday spirit for young and old alike.

The play follows the story of miserly Scrooge, who, through the help of spirits and visions from his past, present and future, finds a second chance to become a loving, generous human being. 

2020 Season Announcement

 

 

We're delighted to announce our 2020 season!

 

January 24 - February 9

I Hate Hamlet by Paul Rudnick

March 20 - April 5

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

May 15 - 32

The Red Velvet Cake War by Jessie Jones, Nicholas Hope, Jamie Wooten

June 25 - July 5

Disney’s Frozen Jr. Music and Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez; Book by Jennifer Lee; Based on the Disney film written by Jennifer Lee and directed by Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee

August 21 - September 6

Circle Mirror Transformation by Annie Baker

October 16 - November 1

The Sound of Music by Richard Rodgers, Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II; Book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse; Suggested by "The Trapp Family Singers" by Maria Augusta Trapp

December 3 - 13

A Christmas Carol by Christopher Schario; Adapted from the book by Charles Dickens

 

Frozen JR.

Frozen JR.

Thurs. June 25, Fri. June 26, Sat. June 27 – 7:30 pm
Sun. June 28 – 2:30 pm
Thurs. July 2, Fri. July 3 – 7:30 pm
Sun. July 5 – 2:30 pm

A story of true love and acceptance between sisters, Frozen JR. expands upon the emotional relationship and journey between Princesses Anna and Elsa. When faced with danger, the two discover their hidden potential and the powerful bond of sisterhood.

With a cast of beloved characters and loaded with magic, adventure, and plenty of humor, Frozen JR. is sure to thaw even the coldest heart!

I Hate Hamlet

I Hate Hamlet

January 24 – February 9

By Paul Rudnick

Fri. Jan. 24, Sat. Jan 25 at 7:30 pm
Thurs. Jan. 30, Fri. Jan. 31, Sat. Feb. 1 at 7:30 pm
Fri. Feb. 7, Sat. Feb. 8 at 7:30 pm
Sun. Feb. 9 at 2:30 pm

Andrew Rally seems to have it all: celebrity and acclaim from his starring role in a hit television series; a rich, beautiful girlfriend; a glamorous, devoted agent; the perfect NY apartment; and the chance to play Hamlet in Central Park. As Andrew’s life starts to fall apart, the drunk and egoic ghost of John Barrymore (the most famous actor ever to play Hamlet) shows up to advise him.

The laughs are nonstop as Andrew wrestles with his conscience, Barrymore, his sword, and Hamlet.

The Importance of Being Earnest

The Importance of Being Earnest

by Oscar Wilde

Fri. Mar. 20, Sat. Mar. 21 – 7:30 pm
Thurs. Mar. 26, Fri. Mar. 27, Sat. Mar. 28 – 7:30 pm
Fri. Apr. 3, Sat. Apr. 4 – 7:30 pm
Sun. Apr. 5 – 2:30 pm

In this tale of two bachelors, John “Jack” Worthing and Algernon “Algy” Moncrieff create alter egos named Ernest to escape their tiresome lives. They attempt to win the hearts of two women who, conveniently, claim to only love men called Ernest. The pair struggles to keep up with their own stories and become tangled in a tale of deception, disguise, and misadventure.

A trivial comedy for serious people, this masterpiece is probably the most famous of all comedies.

Red Velvet Cake War

Red Velvet Cake War

Fri. May 15, Sat. May 16 – 7:30 pm Thurs. May 21, Fri. May 22, Sat. May 23 – 7:30 pm Fri. May 29, Sat. May 30 – 7:30 pm Sun. May 31 – 2:30 pm

This riotously funny comedy follows three cousins as they attempt to throw a family reunion. Things spin hilariously out of control when a neighbor’s pet devours everything edible, a one-eyed suitor shows up to declare his love, and a shocking, high-stakes wager is made on who can bake the best red velvet cake.

As this fast-paced uproarious romp barrels toward its surprising climax, you’ll wish your own family reunion was this much fun!

Sound of Music

Sound of Music

Fri. Oct. 16, Sat. Oct. 17 – 7:30 pm Thurs. Oct. 22, Fri., Oct. 23, Sat. Oct. 24 – 7:30 pm Fri. Oct. 30 – 7:30 pm Sat., Oct. 31, Sun. Nov. 1 – 2:30 pm

This beloved musical tells the tale of young postulant Maria, whose free spirit has trouble fitting into the rules and regulations of the abbey. Commissioned by the Mother Abbess to serve as the governess for seven motherless children, Maria transforms the Von Trapp family home from a place of dour rules and regulations to one filled with joy, laughter, and music. In the process, Maria wins the hearts of all seven children – and their widower father, Captain Von Trapp.

A Christmas Carol Auditions

Christmas Carol Blog Box 807x269

Auditions for A Christmas Carol
by Christopher Schario, adapted from the book by Charles Dickens and directed by Pam Dudley

Saturday, October 3 at 9am (during your audition, let us know if you are not able to attend the callback)

Callbacks on Sunday, October 4 at 2pm

Location:

Ennis Public Theatre
113 N. Dallas Street
Ennis, TX 75119
972-878-7529
**Masks required**

If you are unable to attend Saturday but would like to audition, please email the director at pamcdudley@gmail.com.

All ethnicities are welcome. Auditions will consist of reading from the script.

Cast:
3-4 males
2-3 females
1 young man age 9-15 for Tiny Tim
1 male or female able to play fiddle or violin

SHOW SYNOPSIS
A Christmas Carol is one of the most famous Christmas plays of all time. This adaptation strips down the excess and leaves us with a small cast playing several characters, and lots of humor and wit! Through visits from ghosts of the past, present, and future, Ebeneezer Scrooge wades through his lifetime of regrets and finds joy in the spirit of Christmas. In the words of the playwright, Christopher Schario, “Almost every word of this adaptation is Charles Dickens’ own beautiful language, which simply and directly tells the story of the redemption of a human soul.”

The play creatively incorporates a story within a story and breaks through the fourth wall to connect with the audience. Though the play is often done with a British accent, the dialect will be confirmed once the cast is selected, so, don’t let it be a deterrent. Actors will play multiple roles, so be prepared to audition for multiple characters.

IMPORTANT NOTES
Rehearsals begin Wednesday, October 14 And are scheduled for Mondays and Thursdays 7-9pm, and Saturdays at 9:30am (some rehearsals may run until 9:30pm on weeknights and some additional rehearsals may be added).
Final Tech/Dress rehearsals take place November 16-21 and Wednesday, December 2 (mandatory)
No rehearsals will take place the week of Thanksgiving!

The show runs December 3-13, Thursdays-Saturdays at 7:30 pm and Sundays at 2:30pm (must be available for all dates)

All of our plans are subject to evolve as new information comes into play.

Please check our Facebook page for the most up to date information about auditions.

Upcoming auditions:

Usually, shows are open auditions at the theatre, and consist of cold readings from the script.

Musical auditions feature cold readings from the script. Please be prepared to sing one song with a CD or phone. Accompaniment will not be provided.